What To Know When Merging Contacts In Salesforce

Salesforce is one of the most used CRM systems. Intuitive and easy to manage, this system has gained the appreciation of many sales teams all over the world. Although the system is very powerful, everyone could use a few tips and tricks to avoid mistakes that could cost you the accuracy of the database.

One of the most problematic actions with merging contacts in Salesforce is when there are two or more contacts. This operation is necessary in order to avoid duplicates. If, let’s say, one member of your team enters the details of a customer and then another colleague of yours comes and creates a new recording for the same client, but gives it a slightly different name, the database will contain two entries, when it should only have a single one for this contact.

Tips Regarding Merging Contacts in Salesforce

You need to know exactly what kind of information goes where. For this operation, you have to select one of your duplicate recordings to be the Master Record. Any data included in its fields is going to be transferred to the resulting contact, so you should be careful. Even hidden or read-only fields are going to be taken. If you don’t need all of them, you have to edit the Master Record and choose only those fields you want to keep.

If there’s any conflicting data, you are going to see an alert in the system, as those fields are going to be marked in purple. When you are sure you are done with everything, you have to press Merge and wait for the system to perform this task.

You have to be aware that all related items of duplicate contacts are going to be assigned to the resulting one. Such information includes opportunities, account sharing and manual sharing options. If your organization has divisions, the merged contact is going to be assigned to the one of the master account. Moreover, the newly created contact is going to be included in all case teams of all original contacts.

You have to be aware that merging contacts in Salesforce is not tracked. You can delete a contact only if you have administrator rights, as well as in case you are the contact owner or a superior of the contact owner. This measure prevents accidental deletion of contacts by people who didn’t create them in the first place or aren’t directly involved in leading the sales representative who entered that recording in the system.

Although it seems a bit risky to merge contacts, it’s worse if you ignore them. You have to make sure your database is as accurate as possible, because it is your main tool in maintaining and improving the relationships with your clients and prospects.

Ideally, you need to perform regular checkups, keep merging contacts in Salesforce and fix all such issues that may occur. Humans are subject to making mistakes, so a good feedback system is going to help you catch and fix all these mistakes before they generate trouble.

Tags Related
You may also like
Comments

Comments are closed.